Saint Mary-of-the-Woods temporary shrine of SAINT THÉODORE GUÉRIN

Saint Theodore Guerin

We cannot do all that is good, only that which you can do.” SAINT THÉODORE GUÉRIN (the words adhered to the wall of my office at Saint Louis de Montfort Church in Fishers, IN)

My faith journey was rejuvenated in 2012 and continues to expand (in Latin: expandere ‘to spread out,’ + pandere ‘to spread’) ten fold. Before completion of a Masters degree in Pastoral Theology at Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College located near Terra Haute in southern Indiana, I found holy and sacred ground. The Sisters of Providence were established by SAINT THÉODORE GUÉRIN. Rooted in my very being, Saint Theodore said, “lean with all my weight on providence” thus creating a foundation for me fully anchored as an evangelist for the glory of God.

I landed on campus in frail and ill health when I kneeled at the temporary shrine of Mother Guerin. I learned of an intestinal disorder that never stopped Guerin from starting the Motherhouse of the Sisters of Providence in the USA. Her journey started in Rue, France where she was born.

Consequently, I found myself as a patient at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN for five seperate weeks. The beautiful gift was to receive the Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick with my family and friends surrounding me in prayer.

As providence would have it my dear friend and co-worker, Melissa Crowley who was born and raised in Terra Haute, Indiana, asked me to sponsor her on the journey to Catholicism. Honored to be walking by her side, she choose Theodore as her Confirmation name.

Another providential moment came when our oldest son, Grant prayerfully discerned the Diocese of Lafayette-in-Indiana “new” Guerin Catholic High School in Noblesville, Indiana.

My theology professor who is in the presence of The Lord now, lit a fire in my bones when she planted the seed by calling me a “budding theologian.” Her words evoked the palpable action of the Holy Spirit to spread the Gospel message through the intercession of Our Blessed Mother.

I love the saints and especially the words of Mother Teresa, “I am a little pencil in the hand of a writing God, sending a love letter to the world.”

Someday a Marian love letter to the world will be published in multiple languages inspired solely by our Blessed Mother.

Leave a Reply

